The Small Woman

The Small Woman is a hardback with a dust jacket in very good condition. It has a sprayed top edge.


Alan Burgess


In stock


The Small Woman Synopsis

A true story about a brave and courageous woman called Gladys Aylwood. In the 1930s she travelled to China and lived in poverty teaching Christianity. During her time there, the Japanese invaded China and Gladys decided to save a hundred orphan children by crossing the mountains and the Yellow River to Sian. The story was made into the film The Inn of the Sixth Happiness, staring Ingrid Bergman.

Please contact us if you would like more details or to see more images of The Small Woman.

About Alan Burgess

Alan Burgess was an English Royal Air Force pilot and author who wrote several biographical and non-fiction books between the 1950s and the 1970s. He wrote biographies of Gladys Aylward, and Flora Sandes, and co-wrote Ingrid Bergman’s autobiography.

Why buy The Small Woman from Daker Books?

Daker Books is an independent bookshop in the village of Kibworth, south Leicestershire, specialising in rare and collectable treasures, signed copies, pre-loved and beautiful editions. We have a large collection of Folio Society books too. We pride ourselves on our friendly, professional service and place customer relations and environmental sustainability at the heart of business.

Come and meet the books in person in our cosy, newly-renovated bookshop, or we can mail out any orders under £150 within the UK for just £4 postage and packing, or for free on orders over £150. We can gladly post books out to anywhere overseas too; please see our Delivery Options for more details.

If you also like brand new books, check out our sister bookshop Kibworth Books.

Additional information


Alan Burgess


The Reprint Society