The Hunting of the Snark

CARROLL, Lewis. The Hunting of the Snark, an Agony in Eight Fits. London: Macmillan, 1893.

Red cloth with gilt illustrations to both front and back boards with page edges gilted on all sides. Neat and faint previous owner’s name and date from 1931, slightly rolled spine, lightly scuffed corners at base of front board and some spotting on just 8 pages, else an unusually clean and bright reprint from 1893 of this work from the author of Alice in Wonderland.


Lewis Carroll



The Hunting of the Snark Synopsis

The Hunting of the Snark, subtitled An Agony in Eight Fits, is a nonsense poem by the English writer Lewis Carroll. Written between 1874 and 1876, it borrows the setting, some creatures, and eight portmanteau words from Carroll’s earlier poem ‘Jabberwocky’ in his children’s novel Through the Looking-Glass.

Please contact us if you would like more details or to see more images of The Hunting of the Snark.

About Lewis Carroll

Lewis Carroll was an English author, poet and mathematician. His most notable works are Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and its sequel Through the Looking-Glass.

Why buy The Hunting of the Snark from Daker Books?

Daker Books is an independent bookshop in the village of Kibworth, south Leicestershire, specialising in rare and collectable treasures, signed copies, pre-loved and beautiful editions. We have a large collection of Folio Society books too. We pride ourselves on our friendly, professional service and place customer relations and environmental sustainability at the heart of business.

Come and meet the books in person in our cosy, newly-renovated bookshop, or we can mail out any orders under £150 within the UK for just £4 postage and packing, or for free on orders over £150. We can gladly post books out to anywhere overseas too; please see our Delivery Options for more details.

If you also like brand new books, check out our sister bookshop Kibworth Books.

Additional information


Lewis Carroll




Henry Holiday